Rhodesia Provinces

Like South Africa, Rhodesian aquatics used a club and provincial system, with schools operating separately. Until their separation 1963, when Northern Rhodesia became Zambia , itwas also a part of Rhodesian swimming, with competitors travelling from places like Kitwe and Ndola to compete in the South African swimming championships. There were numerous swimming and diving clubs, as well as water polo and later also for synchronised swimming. The aquatic provinces in Rhodesia were Matabeleland, Mashonaland, Midlands, Manicaland and Victoria.

The Rhodesian Amateur Swimming Association held an annual national inter-provincial championships, while numerous other inter-provincial galas were held as well. Schools also followed the provincial structure.

Follow the links to each province:

Manicaland - Umtali

Matabeleland - Wankie.

Mashonaland - Salisbury

Midlands - Gwelo, Que Que

Victoria  - Fort Victoria

Northern Rhodesia - Lusaka, Kitwe, Luashya, Ndola, Livingstone

Nyasaland  - Blantyre, Lilongwe



The main aquatic sports centres were Salisbury in the Mashonaland province, and Bulawayo in the Matabeleland province, although most of the towns had at least a municipal swimming pool, while many schools had also invested in swimming pool facilities. Click here to see schools in Salisbury as well as schools in Bulawayo. In Northern Rhodesia swimming pools were built and maintained by mining companies. 

Victoria province had Fort Victoria (today called Masvingo) which is the oldest town in the country - founded in 1890. 

The Midlands province included the towns of Que Que and Gwelo. Click here to see Midlands swimming schools.

In the east, bordering on Mozambique, was Manicaland, where Umtali was the main centre.