Santa van Jaarsveld

Swimmer and Coach

Santa van Jaarsveld (neé Pienaar) graduated from Pretoria High School for Girls, and has swum coached in South Africa for 42 years. She was an Orange Freestate swimmer with the Bloemfontein Otters club and coached Eunice Girls High School for 11 years and later moved to Stellenbosch, where she coaches the university team. In 1980 she was selected to coach the pringbok team, and in 2007 she won the South African coach of the Year award. She produced 14 Springboks - 5 from Eunice. In 1982 she published a book on swimming - Swimming manual for teachers and physical education students with Charle du P Meyer and national coach Bob Campbell

Santa with Jessica Pengelly

Eunice Springboks Lizelle Markgraaf, Amanda Markgraaf and Janine Steenkamp - with Alice Escreet.

The Maties Swimming Club was founded in 1927. Up until 1980 the club had only consisted of students, but with the arrival of Libby Burrel as full time coach a subsection for non-students was founded. The club has since flourished under full time head coaches Santa van Jaarsveld, Petro Nortje, and current head coach Pierre de Roubaix. The club has a proud tradition of excellence, including an Olympic bronze medal in 1996 and a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games in 2002, as well as a number or gold and other medals at All Africa Games. This tradition continues till today with club producing Provincial and National team representatives.

With Debbie Wade, Andre Stadler, Buff van Westenbrugge, Charles Standing, Herman Nienaber, Haydn Tawse, Carl Laubscher and coach Santa van Jaarsveld.


By Nicole McCain

Five Strand Masters swimmers competed at the SA Masters Nationals Championships in Port Elizabeth from 13 to 16 March.

There were 450 swimmers at this year’s competition in the various five-year age groups. Johann Romer (8084) won gold in the 100m freestyle, silver in the 50m,100m and 200m breaststroke and bronze in the 50m freestyle.

David McLachlan (7579) won the trophy for the swimmer with the closest time to a world record in the 400IM and the trophy for the swimmer over 60 with the most points in endurance events. He also won five golds in the 200fly,400IM, 200IM, 200 breaststroke and 100 fly. He won silver in the 800m freestyle. He also got his SA colours placing him amongst the top-ten swimmers in his age group in the world this year.

Kate Bihl (4044) won gold in the 100m and 200m backstroke, silver in the 50m backstroke, 400m and 800m freestyle and 4th in the 50 breaststroke.

Santa van Jaarsveld (7579) won gold in the 50m and 100m breaststroke and 50m freestyle. She broke the SA record in all three events and swam an SA qualifying time in the 100 breaststroke which means that she placed under the top ten in the world in her age group for the 100m breaststroke this year.

Jean Degenaar (5054) won gold in the 400IM, 100m freestyle and 200m backstroke and silver in the 200IM, 100m butterfly and 50m butterfly. She also swam the 100m butterfly for the medley relay team in the 200+ age group that broke the world record by nine seconds.

            NEW CONTENT

Click on  to turn various layers on/off. Click on  to view larger map. Zoom into each coloured dot.