Orange Free State Pools and Places

The Orange Free State joined SAASU as the Orange River Colony, but did not get a chance to host the South African swimming championships until 1930., when it was held in Bloemfontein. The town has built its first swimming pool in 1892, when the iconic Arthur Nathan pool was opened, and in 1966 the Stadion Pool was built. 

Other centres of aquatic sports in the provinces included the outdoor heated Olympic pool in Sasolburg, where the South African winter championships have been held since the 1970's. Sasolburg was later to become part of the short-lived but memorable swimming province known as the Vaal Triangle. Other towns that have produced champion swimmers include Kroonstad, Welkom and Bethlehem.