1950 Kimberley

Kimberley 5 March Kenilworth Bath
Kay Holmes (Tvl) sets NR 100 backstroke on 8 Feb 1950 at Paterson Park, Joan Diamond (Rhod) and JE Dyason (Tvl) set Junior NR's.
US coach Harold Minto in SA – taught locals to do tumble turns

  Men       Women    

110 Junior A Engelby Brian Peers D Watson   Angela Webb Kay Homes Pat Watkins
110 Jackie Wiid (NR equalled) Ernie Ricklan Pat Koyd   Joan Harrison Shirley Rawstorne Barbara Evans
220 junior P Duncan J Du Plessis A Engleby   Angela Webb Kay Holmes Joan Kigggen
220 Ernie Ricklan (NR) Graham Johnston     Joan Harrison Shirley Rawstorne  
500 Graham Johnston Donald Johnston Les Klenerman        
880 Graham Johnston Donald Johnston Les Klenerman        

200 junior James Blackthorne Q Smalley B Peers        
150         Kay Holmes (NR) Bernada van Raay Joan Harrison

200 junior J Dyason B Law G Whyte        
200 Ernie Nicholson G Stott R Davies   Joan Diamond Millicent Coetzee Rema vd Walt

Team Race Transvaal Eastern Province Noord Transvaal   Natal Transvaal Border

Diving Willie Welgemoed Geoff Mandy L Duncker   Paddy Chapman Deidre Cullinan Stella Brew

Water Polo Currie Cup Transvaal          
Ellis Brown Trophy Transvaal          

Transvaal         Natal    
  Ernie Ricklan ERPM       D Watson junior
  Kay Holmes junior       B Law  
  Pat Watkins junior       G Whyte  
  A Engelby junior       Deidre Cullinan diver
  Brian Peers junior       Joyce Poole  
  Bernada van Raay junior       Sheila Bands  
  Gys Dorrenstien former Dutch polo international       Sheila Godwin  
  Basnett polo goalie       Shirley Rawstorne  
  Cohen polo          
  Joan Kiggen junior/Melville SC          
  James Blackthorne junior          
  Les Klenerman            
  Paddy Chapman diver          
  Stella Brew diver/Wits          
  Pat Russell diver          
  Millicent Coetzee Wits          
  Rina vd Walt            
  Meredith polo          
  J van Gent            
  Melville polo          
  R Davies            
  Peter Pirow            
Western Province       Noord Transvaal  
  Pat Koyd polo/swim       J Dyason  
  H Ferguson junior       H Grothaus  
  Eric Kreft polo       D Pappas  
  Johnson polo captian       Jackie Wiid Pretoria policeman
            P Duncan junior
            J du Plessis junior
            Q Smalley junior
            Paddy Shampan  
            Vos polo
            Willie Welgemoed diver
            L Duncker diver
OFS         Rhodesia    
  Graham Johnston polo/swim       Angela Webb junior from Bulawayo
  Donald Johnston polo/swim       P Furber polo
            C Swift polo
            R Killick polo
            RL Foster polo
            Beryl Nugent now in Rhodesia
            Joan Diamond junior
            G Stott  
Eastern Province
  Geoff Mandy diver       C Breetzke polo
  Ernie Nicholson         R Hughes polo

Cecil Colwin wrote in Swimnews Magazine:
In 1950, at a swim clinic at the Witwatersrand University in Johannesburg, this writer learned at first hand from American coach Harold Minto how the "catch-up" stroke was taught. Minto was coach of Jimmy McLane, 1948 Olympic 1500 metres champion, and on
In 1950, the writer was given a 'discourager' by coach Harold Minto of the Firestone Country Club, Akron, Ohio, who had trained Jimmy MacLane the first post-war Olympic 1500 champion. The apparatus concisted of a canvas harness connected to several yards of elastic aircraft shock absorber cord
In 1950, South Africa sent only three swimmers to the Empire Games in Auckland, New Zealand and each swimmer won at least one gold medal. They were all trained on the discourager type apparatus.
Firestone Aquatic Club in Akron, OH which won the National Senior Championships 5 years running under Hall of Fame Coach Harold Minto.

Western Province swimmer Pat Koyd


More in this category: « 1934 Pretoria 1951 Johannesburg »

            NEW CONTENT