1982 Pretoria

In August 1982, a South African lifesaving team competed against Austria, Federal Republic of Germany and Italy in Austria.


Nationals was held at the University of Pretoria's LC de Villiers Pool. Springbok swimmers competes against a combined USA/Canada/German team in tour which ends in Swakopmund.

Tricia Butcher wins Women's Best Performance for third year in a row, while Erwin Kratz in Men's Best Performance with two SA records, Andre Kotze wins 100 freestyle for 4th year in a row

  Men       Women    
100 Andre Kotze Paul Blackbeard Billy Bell   Annette Cowley (NR in heats) Wendy Wishart Mandy Grant
200 Gary Brinkman Anton van Niekerk Billy Bell   Ann Lamont Tricia Butcher Annette Cowley
400 Gary Brinkman Kevin Richards Robby Portsmouth Tricia Butcher Ann Lamont Susan Erasmus
800         Tricia Butcher Rosa Cronje Leanette van Vuuren
1500 Gary Brinkman Graham Hill Robby Portsmouth        

100 Erwin Kratz (NR) Kevin Richards Michael Kritzinger Karen van Helden Annette Cowley Hannalie Vermeulen
200 Erwin Kratz (NR) Kevin Richards Julian Taylor   Karen van Helden Tricia Butcher Annette Cowley

100 Charl Venter Rory Mapstone Brian Duguid   Dorothea Neumeister Helena Pirow Susan Erasmus
200 Charl Venter Mark Jankelow Brian Duguid   Helena Pirow Dorothea Neumeister Susan Erasmus

100 Kobus Scheepers Paul Blackbeard Gerhard van der walt Toni Palmer Rosie Wicht Connie Fritsch
200 Jannie Horn Steven Klugman C Erasmus   Hannelie Vermeulen Tomi Palmer S de Graaf

200 Anton van Niekerk Erwin Kratz Graham du Toit Dorothea Neumeister Susan Erasmus Martie Pepler
400 Anton van Niekerk Gerd Hipper Graham du Toit Susan Erasmus Dorothea Neumeister Tricia Butcher

Free relay              
200         Natal OFS Transvaal
400 Eastern Province Natal Transvaal   Transvaal OFS Western Province
800 Natal (NR) Gary Brinkman        
    Paul Blackbeard        
    Billy Bell          
    Anton van Niekerk          
Medley relay              
400 Transvaal (NR) Erwin Kratz     Natal (NR)    
    Mark Jankelow        
    Kobus Scheepers        
    Stuart Cromarty        

Synchronised swimming            

Water Polo Currie Cup     Northern Transvaal        
Ellis Brown Trophy Natal Nothern Transvaal Transvaal      

Springbok Team            
  Anton van Niekerm       Karen van Helden    
  Andre Kotze       Dorothea Neumeister    
  Kobus Scheepers       Susan Erasmus    
  Gary Brinkman       Toni Palmer    
  Charl Venter       Tricia Butcher    
  Erwin Kratz       Annette Cowley    
Diving Barry Birkett       Jo-Anne Hockley    
  Craig Vaughn       Debbie Vaughn    


More in this category: « 1988 Pretoria 1989 Durban »

            NEW CONTENT