Water Polo

For more information about the this topic please consult the book titled South African Waterpolo since 1898 that has been compiled over a number of years by Nico Lamprecht. He and all his contributors have been instrumental in producing a first of its kind South African water polo history book. 

With contributions on SA Women's water polo by Barbara Bowley Lavett and SA Masters water polo by Neville Clarence & Ian van Zyl.

There is additional inforamtion on their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/southafricanwaterpolohistory/

British soldiers playing polo in the Mooi rivier durting the Boer War

1951 Natal Water Polo team

1959 Springbok team to Europe

1979 Springbok water polo team

2013 - Jason Kyte playing for South Africa

A Spanish water polo team was due to tour South africa in 1971- but the tour was cancelled just before it was due to start. The players included a number of Olympians - Luis Bestit, Alberto Franch, Juan rubio, Juan Sans, Juan Jane, Alfonso Canovas, Gabriel Soler, Jose Padros, Augistin Codera, Manuel Ibern and Poncio puigvall - the manager was Andres Zoliomi. 

The National team of Spain that competed to Mexico 1968, Olympic Games. From left to right:Juan Antonio Sierra (Head of delegation), Juan Luis Abellan (seleccionador), Santiago
Zubicoa, Juan Jane, Juan Rubio, Vicente Brugat, Jose Padros and Bandy Zolyomy (Head coach).

Sitting: Fermin Mas, Luis Meya, Manuel Ibern, Agustin Codera, Luis Bestit and Jorge Borrell.Juan Antonio Sierra; Historia del Water Polo Espanol 1908-1994

Western Province Water Polo - 1938 Currie Cup winners. Back standing from left to right F. Gruhn, R. Loydell ,L Maister and D Collins- inset J. King, Seated R. Glegg, S. Collins,P. Herbstein, L Berkovitch, M Jurisch

More in this category: « Synchronized Swimming Lifesaving »